Floral City Heritage Council Floral City Heritage Council

Address correspondence to:

The Floral City Heritage Council
P O Box 328
Floral City, FL 34436

Return to Homepage

Floral City Community


Discovery Crystal River

Naturecoaster.com, an FCHC Corporate Member

Best Places to Live in Florida

Florida Niche

Tidewater Florida

Florida Backroads Travel

Liveability (Areavibes.com)

Citrus County Coronavirus Facts

Citrus County BOCC


Heritage Days 2021  

Friday, December 3, 2021

Saturday, December 4, 2021



How Floral City Heritage Council Started

The Floral City Historic District

A Historic District is a group of buildings united by a historic feature.

The Avenue of Historic Oaks is the historic feature of Floral City.

On December 1, 1993, the Floral City Historic District was designated as a listing on the National Register of Historic Places (NRHP), a part of the National Park Service's program "to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate and protect America's historic and archeological resources” (National Preservation Act, 1966)

The Floral City Historic District is the only national historic district in Citrus County. 

The Floral City Heritage Council is a group of citizens who collaborate with local organizations, businesses, professionals, residents, and government agencies to advocate for the preservation and protection of the Historic Trees along Orange Avenue in the Floral City Historic District.

Floral City Heritage includes two site listings on the Florida Black Heritage Trail, a guidebook to African American landmarks and legacies throughout the state.

The Frazier/Williams Cemetery is the site of one of the earliest identified segregated cemeteries in Florida. A monolith commemorating the site as the Floral City Community Cemetery has been added with the assistance of the Floral City Heritage Council.

Also listed on the Florida Black Heritage Trail is Pleasant Hill Baptist Church, one of the oldest segregated Florida churches still in use. 

These two sites are the only sites in Citrus County that are documented in the Florida Black Heritage Trail.

Every year since 1993 we of the Floral City Heritage Council celebrate the first weekend in December with Heritage Days Events in the Floral City Historic District. Residents showcase the historic architecture of the area with the Blue Banner Tour of Historic Homes, featuring the Duval-Metz House on Orange Avenue, currently under restoration by the Duval Preservation Trust. The last of the home's residents still lives among us in Floral City.

The Heritage Days educational events also include folklife demonstrations, music, crafts, artists, and performers. Traditional local foods are available for purchase. 

In 2008, the Floral City Heritage Council opened a Heritage Museum and Country Store to further support the mission of preserving knowledge of history and pre-history of Citrus County, Florida, and nearby areas.

The Museum exhibits are designed, developed, and prepared by Floral City volunteers. On Museum workdays, Heritage Council members clean and organize the Museum. And on Fridays and Saturdays, our local Heritage Council members greet all visitors to the Museum and work the Country Store.

Floral City Heritage Council

Officers (elected August 2021)
Chairwoman - Terri Hartman
Vice President - Laura Hennings
Financial Officer - Janie Stewart and Eileen Clark
Recording Secretary - Paulette Ritchie
Membership - Nominations Welcome

Steering Committee Members (elected August 2021)
Sandy Cross | Harvey Dunn | Laura Hennings | Ralph Johnson | Bill Metcalfe | Joi Sampsell 

Mission: The Floral City Heritage Council serves as an advocate for Florida historic preservation and presents and supports Florida folk-life programs.  Established in September 1992 as a local branch of the Citrus County Historical Society, we support and promote the Society's mission to preserve and further the knowledge of the history and pre-history of Citrus County, Florida, and nearby areas.  

Floral City Heritage Council is part of Citrus County Historical Society

Bylaws of the Citrus County Historical Society

The Citrus County Historical Society, Inc. (CCHS, INC.) was originally formed in 1963, and incorporated in 1979. Operating as a non-profit 501(c)(3) corporation, it accepts tax-deductible donation in the active pursuit to "preserve and further the knowledge of the history and pre-history of Citrus County and nearby areas." A copy of the official registration and financial information may be obtained from the Division of Consumer Services by calling toll-free within the state to 1-800-HELP-FLA (435-7352). Registration does not imply endorsement, approval, or recommendation by the state.